top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe African Village Girl

KENYA'S DANCEHALL BADDEST

Dancehall in Kenya has over the years gained a fast rising significance in the music industry, with the likes of Wyre and Nazizi pioneering the genre back in the day. Fast forward in 2018 we have the new school acts and the name Bravoo is hard to miss in the scene. He describes his music as a mix of Afro dancehall, zouk and everything else he feels is a right vibe. He talks about his viral video sexxing, future projects and more.

Bravoo

Who is Bravoo?

BRAVOO is a Kenya Dancehall reggae singer, songwriter, recording and performing artist born in the early 90's.


Are you single?

I am dating.


What are the lessons you’ve learnt in this music industry?

If you sit down there and wait for people to take you up to the top where you belong, it will never happen. one has to get up and go make it happen but not let it happen, because it will not if you don't go chase after your dream and passion.


Is it true your new video was trending in Germany, how did that happen?

Yes indeed, not only in Germany but also Canada, Jamaica, The Caribbean, Netherlands, Los Angeles and South Africa just to name but a few. I have a very strong support team in Europe and the rest of Africa the likes of Ghana, Zimbabwe, Nigeria and Uganda for my irresistible kind of unique Dancehall vibe. My promoters in those countries were sending me stats after every hour and the rounds and the discussion I created on their entertainment sites /Facebook which everybody was talking about BRAVOO and his new song "SEXXING".


If it was banned in Kenya what would be your reaction?

Why should it get banned? There is absolutely nothing wrong with the video. Good music should not be banned simply because it is different people reacted and interpreted it on their own different ways. I don't do my music for Kenyans or Europeans alone. My music is global and my vibe is universal, meaning all music that I release reaches out to my fans all across the world to the furthest Cancun Mexico and they love it and appreciate my work. Furthermore, it was not meant for any local media houses and that's why we haven't pushed it yet because it was meant for my YouTube viewers only and that's it. If YouTube accepted it, that means it fits to be on their website then no one has any rights whatsoever to ban it but again they are free to vent out on it. Its entertainment still and we just want to make money.


What is the difference between dancehall and reggae?

Dancehall music is an offspring of reggae music, one should know that. The only aspect that differentiates them is the vibe; one is of slow tempo while the other is of fast tempo. Also, dancehall music vibe is ever evolving while reggae music vibe tends to preserve the Rasta culture but at the end of the day, it is the same thing, just a different way of presentation.


Would you do reggae or any other genre of music?

I am a multi-talented and a versatile artist. I have a reggae album I am working on with my team; soon my fans across the world will have the privilege to enjoy it. Like I said earlier that am a songwriter, I write different songs with the different type of artists I work with. Only that dancehall vibe is the kind of vibe that motivates me on a daily.


Who are you listening to right now?

I’m listening to a bunch of new acts and legends too across the divide from Benga, Afro sound, Reggae, Dancehall to any other feel-good music. When the vibe is right I ride along.


Your inspiration comes from…?

Life is my greatest inspiration, everything we see and do is music, every feeling we feel, every thought every stage in life is music, everything that happens around us in the world and in our society and community is music, every aspect of life good or bad inspires BRAVOO MUSIC. Thanks a lot for this question.


How is your process of writing music?

Thank God because He blessed me with an incredible talent some of my music has gone through a process to the actualization while others were one take in the studio.The likes of my current next big song in Africa I just recorded one night ago and the next day morning we were shooting the video. I got to the studio found this groovy beat and I just loved its vibe and that was it, another hit was created. Coming soon, it’s crazy!



Is your style of fashion part of Bravo the brand? When did you adopt the Jamaican accent? Is it part of the Bravo brand? What is your brand about?

My style of dressing is modest, I love looking good and being neat and clean always in and out of the studio. My dancehall vibe accent is my business tool, that's what makes BRAVOO different and unique from the other artist in East Africa and Africa at large. My Brand is about the best of Africa. BRAVOO is a word attached to greatness, therefore coming from Africa, my brand will go forth to the world and show how great the motherland is not to talk about talents, skills, nature, minerals just to name but a few, in few years all this am saying will be manifested and many youths from Kenya will make their living under the brand BRAVOO because of its strong business side yet to be revealed fully in the near future.


Tell us about #BravoLiveExperience?

This was a movement I formed to reach out to my real loyal fans across the state. It spreads love and positive vibes down to the community level. I have been doing this for a while and we are looking at it on a bigger scale. Besides, I am creating and giving young artists major platforms-which is part of my agenda.


How would you describe the music scene for a dancehall artist in Kenya compared to what is out there?

It's very unfortunate that people are still stuck to some old beliefs. People are living in fear of expression. The system is failing the citizens big time, there is no focus in our entertainment industry. Kenya is a party nation, most of the established regional entertainers made their ways to stardom via Kenyans yet the same support cannot be shown to their own artists who happen to be their next door neighbour. It will take many years for dancehall and reggae culture to grow in Kenya because of so many unworthy policies and hateful discrimination of art. Every dancehall artist should strive so hard to get there name out there beyond the borders for them to have a sustainable income through their art. I am saying this with a lot of disappointment that our state cannot support artist despite all the creative minds that are out here.


What is your responsibility as the baddest dancehall artist in Kenya?

(Laughs) the baddest??? (Laughs) am just a regular citizen try to make a living through art. I don't think I will carry the status burden on my head. I will just be a good citizen as I always do, pay my duly taxes as I always do live my life, raise my family and expose them to the world and opportunities so they can define their future.


Is this what you will be doing 10 years down the line?

Actually, I will not be doing this but will be doing much greater things in the next 10 years from now.


What legacies do you what to leave behind?

I want to be known as that artist who went out of his way and did the unthinkable hence archived greatness and profound respect and support across the globe which later on opened greater doors and opportunity to the young artists and inspired them to do what they love best. We make the society; the society does not make us. So stand up and do what you have to do and make your dreams come true.

77 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page